INSIGHT INTO THE HISTORY

Bishops of Brixen

Reifenstein was built by the bishops of Brixen and was first mentioned in a document in 1110. However, remains of walls in the southern part of the castle hill suggest that the construction of the first castle complex dates back to the 11th century. In the 12th century, the imposing keep was erected, which served as a defence tower and was not intended as a residential tower.

Reifenstein was the mighty main castle of the Bishop of Brixen in the Wipptal valley. It controlled and protected the important transport route through the valley and was also the bishop's representative administrative centre for his property in the region.


Tyrolean sovereigns

Reifenstein came into the possession of Count Albert III of Tyrol as early as 1209/10 and became a princely residence. In the 13th and 14th centuries, the castle underwent significant structural extensions: the mighty residential tower was built, later other structures such as the kitchen and the enclosing and protective curtain wall were added.

Reifenstein was granted as a fief by the Tyrolean sovereigns, most recently to the Lords of Säben, who died out with Oswald von Säben in 1465.

The picture shows Duke Sigmund the Coin-rich of Tyrol, around 1480/96.


Teutonic Order

In 1470, the Tyrolean sovereign Duke Sigmund of Tyrol sold Reifenstein Castle to the Teutonic Order, which had its Tyrolean headquarters in Bolzano. The Teutonic Order, which already owned the Kommende in Sterzing, thus gained another fortified seat in the region.

Reifenstein blossomed under the leadership of the Teutonic Order: a new palace, the chapter house and the magnificent ‘Green Hall’ were added to the old structure, and the castle was given a sumptuous interior in the Tyrolean late Gothic style. Around 1580, the last structural additions were made to strengthen the fortifications. A 150 metre long defensive wall protects the castle to the south, while a mighty outer bailey was built to the north.

Reifenstein remained in the possession of the Teutonic Order for almost three and a half centuries. Caretakers were appointed to manage the castle, most of whom came from noble families from the Sterzing region. No further building work was carried out. The medieval substance of the castle was thus preserved.


Tyrolean Counts Family of Thurn and Taxis

After the dissolution of the Teutonic Order by Emperor Napoleon in 1809, the Bavarian government transferred Reifenstein Castle to Alexander Count Thurn und Taxis in 1813 as compensation for the confiscated postal regalia. The Counts Thurn and Taxis showed great interest in the historic site from the very beginning and worked hard to preserve it.

Over the course of time, numerous structural repairs were carried out: The roofs were renewed, extensive renovation work was carried out and a drinking water pipe was laid. Today, Reifenstein is one of the most beautiful medieval castles in South Tyrol and is a living testimony to past eras.